Newbie Python, won't compile.. indent error?

Does this mean I screwed up an indent somewhere? .py attached. Anyone mind taking a look? Thank you!

Python encountered IndentationError(‘unexpected indent’, (’/opt/Autodesk/shared/python/mvp_exporters/mvp_exporter_v003.py’, 1, 1, ’ def get_media_panel_custom_ui_actions():\n’)) in unknown code
[PYTHON HOOK] An error occurred. Ignoring python hooks from /opt/Autodesk/shared/python/mvp_exporters/mvp_exporter_v003.py

mvp_exporter_v003.py (2.7 KB)

It looks like there’s a space before ‘def’ in line 1. Try removing that and see if it runs.

1 Like

Thanks. That was the first error…then I had to update the print item.name to print(item.name)

Thanks @andymilkis !

Complete Noob here - not getting much truck with this .py to load a timeline setup - can anyone advise?

Syntax error everywhere:
SyntaxError: invalid syntax

During handling of the above exception, another exception occurred:

Traceback (most recent call last):
File “/opt/Autodesk/presets/2022.3.1/shotgun/python/tk_flame_basic/…/tk_multi_pythonconsole/python/app/input_widget.py”, line 205, in execute
python_code = compile(python_script, “python input”, “exec”)
File “python input”, line 4
.create_effect(“UK_Legal”)
^
SyntaxError: invalid syntax
UK_Legal.py (271 Bytes)

I can see two main problems in your script:

1. The create_effect() function must be passed a valid Timeline FX as an argument. I am not sure what effect “UK_Legal” is supposed to be, especially since you are trying to load a Batch setup in it.

2. In the documentation we represent an object between brackets like this but in your script you need to actually pass a real object, not this placeholder.

The easiest way to obtain a PySegment from the Python Console is to use flame.timeline.clip.selected_segments which will return a list of all the segments currently selected in the Timeline. You do not need to do this in a custom actions script since the selection is already passed.