Bidding vfx and post for features and tv shows

Hi,
Up until now, when freelancing, clients have contacted me with jobs and have done a quick estimate and given them a price. Adjusted if what they delivered was different from what was previously discussed.
Has mainly been for ads and small parts of features or tv shows.

Now I find my self in a position where I am ask to bid on entire features and tv shows (not in the US, so budgets are comparatively tiny).

I am looking for any resources to help me do realistic bids. Any website, blog, book, software recommendations will be greatly appreciated.

All I have now is my common sense and experience. I am NOT a producer and i have very little spreadsheet experience.

Hi
I work in features mainly and some TV. We always get given documents by the assistant editor, one with opticals and one with more VFX or online type of shots. A spotting session is highly recommended to divide them all up as some ā€˜simpleā€™ fixes they flag are far more complex than they realise.

The conform is usually 8 hours, this is a pretty standard time i think, so anything above that needs to be discussedā€¦ We then bid all the individual shots for VFX and Online. Round 1 of this usually freaks the PPS and producers out and we try to adjust, omit and find solutions to meet their budget.

Not sure if that was much help much as im in a post house it may be different but you can only hope for a really good edit assistant otherwise things get messy and complicated very quickly.

1 Like

Thanks Ben. So the vfx shots you do are mostly unplanned fixes?
I was more looking for resource as how to do bidding and planning for vfx in pre production, but all the things you mention will of course also be necessary on any type of longform project.
You are quite right that a good assistant editor is key to a good handoff from offline to vfx and grade.