How to keep up with Flame

Hello all - I’ve got a general question that I’d love to pool all of you on
I’m a finishing editor who works with Flame (and nowhere near any of your realm in VFX talent!) But now our company primarily does all the conforms on Resolve and while I’ll do opticals in Flame I’m not in that environment enough to learn/be up to date on the features. So that brings me to Fusion which is now part of Resolve - any thoughts on this program? I know some VFX artists who prefer this because of its node simplicity. Or any tips how can I keep up to date in Flame and get better without actually being on it full time like I used to be?
Thanks so much - Chad

3 Likes

Whats up Chad! Hope you are well!

First, I’ve never used Fusion and don’t know anyone that uses it that does what we do. So, someone else will have to chime in on that one.

Here are some challenging questions/thoughts. It’s not my intention to pick on you, just make you think a little bit and start a dialogue.

Regarding Flame, well, your question is super broad and vague. What are you goals? What do you do now that you wish you could do better? Are you advancing in your career? What kind of work do you want to do? Is there someone out there that you envy and want to be like? If answering some of those questions is challenging, then perhaps it’d be helpful to just be exposed to more stuff. Give yourself a goal of spending just 15 minutes a day on this. That’s 1% of your day.

When’s the last time you watched a Logik Live? When’s the last time you watched someone do something and thought damn, that was cool, I want to do that! Have you seen a Renderdome? Was anything there inspiring?

Lean in a little bit if you can. Join the Discord (link at the top of this page) or join a Logik Hivemind for some small group support.

Thoughts? Questions? Comments? Concerns?

4 Likes

Welcome aboard, Chad!

1 Like

Hello Chad,