Master for Austrialia

Hi all,

I have a 25p master file. I have received specs copied in an email (not an official spec sheet): “25fps (PAL) DNxHD 120 (SQ) as an interlaced MXF file”. Seems like I should export an MXF DNxHD SQ 1920x1080i file and call it a day, but I was wondering if anyone with more experience shipping spots to Australia had any suggestions. Thanks in advance

Hey Matt,
I have never shipped an Autralian spot as DNxHD 120 but it could be Adstream

There are two main companies controling the upload of Ads in Australia.

Peach who requires XDCAM HD422 as either .mxf or .mov
and
Adstream (recently acquired by Extreme Reach) who I always give ProRes 422HQ but they will take other formats one of which is actually DNxHD 120

I can share with you the Peach 2020 Technical specs:
IMD Peach specs.pdf (160.7 KB)
and the 2019 Adstream File Delivery Specifications that I have:

@Dolvie

thats exactly how it is in germany btw…

Adstream was the only one i know of for a long time then they split up and became honeycomb and adstream and now peach…

I also use peach, the cool thing is that you can just create a test project to upload spots to have them run tech QC with vidchecker on it, so come delivery day you are ready even if the sound mix hasnt been done :wink:

Thanks for the advice. How do I convert a 25p to 50i?

You don’t.

50i and 25p are both identical if the source content is progressive. Right?

I mean, 50i is just to interlaced frames of the same progressive frame, right?

Right?

2 Likes

right

1 Like

True. Thanks for setting it straight!

yea youd still need to change the output to 50i, I usually use the adobe media encoder preset from peach… easy. its just 50i upper field first and you are done.