Can I use a Desktop Backup to revert Batch/BFX to Timeline FX?

Hello

I am wondering whether promoting multiple timeline FX to either BFX or a large Batch group is a good idea for a specific project, especially since I have never used Batch before…

Question:
Does restoring a desktop backup revert a Batch Group or BFX clip back to its original timeline FX state?

Thanks in advance.

.

PS:

Google AI provided the following warning:

->Duplicate Before Promoting: Always duplicate your sequence or version up your
->timeline before ->choosing Create Batch Group or exploding effects.
->This gives you an untouched, timeline-only backup to return to if needed.

I think you’re overthinking it. if you archive something, it will come back the same way. If you have BFXs, just leave them as such. If you iterated them, their setups will also be saved if you do a project save.

Thank’s for the feedback @MLandon. Do you mean “Save Project” or do you mean a “real” Flame archive?

I mean a real Flame project archive. That will save all the metadata for all the timelines, clip media (or links to the media if you turn “source media cache” on), and all the setup directories. The “Save Project” button just saves the current desktop to the library. I thought that’s what you meant by “reverting a desktop backup”. If you just mean copying a desktop from the libraries, back to the desk, than, all the BFX will copy over and look exactly the same as when you saved it. I would still get into the habit of iterating your batches or BFXs. It can save you if something goes horribly wrong.