How do HDD die?

How do hard drives die? Do they need to be running continuously. Is it in use that they usually pop their clogs?

If I save some material off to a HDD and shelve it, should I feel confident that in two years I can pull that drive off the shelf and expect it to work? Assuming I haven’t stored it either too hot or too cold or too humid. Or on top of a giant magnet (speaker).

Hmm. I’m not an expert, but, that gives me the heebie jeebies. It all depends. How old is it? How many hours are on it? How much dust from your kids and cats have found its way into your drive? Are you really temperature controlled? Under 35-45% humidity? There isn’t a business in the world that stores data on a spinning disk on a shelf that has a good time.

This was sort of my pessimistic thought @randy
I feel that without access to another type of hardware, the safest bet would be to save two copies but even then…

I mean, maybe it’ll work. But, RAIDs and NAS are sooo cheap these days and accessible there’s no reason to not have 2 RAIDS around, one primary one backup.

And depending on the volume, you can likely find cheap cloud/dropbox/google drive storage. Google Drive is unlimited data* so I just don’t see spinning disks as ever a solid storage solution . Especially only 1 of them. Not raided. And likely in an enclosure that could also die.

In fact, I’ve got a couple of OWC Thunderbay 6’s for sale if you want 'em.

1 Like

Interesting. Of course. Why shelf it when I could RAID it. Keep the RAID storage as a regular storage with some protection.

Ha my little garage operation was only meant to be small. Watch it grow!

2 Likes

For archiving, I use old server-class HDDs I replaced with newer ones in my NASes. All of them are duplicated for data safety reasons, but I had not a single failure ever.

1 Like