Lens distortion analysis

Anyone still use lens distortion analysis in lens distort node in flame?

I haven’t been into that node in years. What does the analysis do @johnt ?

All of our lens mapping happens in Nuke.

You can draw some lines (say on a grid) and have it “accurately” undo the distortion. However, the filtering is a little soft.

I don’t really have a copy of nuke anymore. Only flame.

2 Likes

I might find some time today to do a comparison. We have just processed a load of lens grids @johnt

1 Like

The inverse button is a little sticky.

Ok so I’m new to automatic lens correction so beware dumb questions to follow.

If you dont have any lens data is it possible to draw a grid over the image then put it through something in Flame.

Whats the goto method undistort - track - redistort

Nuke does a pretty good job with its auto analyzer.

The one in flame needs some straight edges to measure: I have used it and got some good results but it is pretty hit and miss.

3de is excellent. However I find the user interface very intimidating (it’s very Unix).

1 Like

Yeah the first thing is a lens grid. Regardless of the lens data.
But obviously it does help to know what lens you are mapping so that you can apply that STmap to all other shots.

You can get undistort information from doing a camera track but we are trying to get away from doing this and getting lens grids upfront and making sure we undistort before we track

Syntheyes does a great job of estimating it. You need footage with a sort of roving camera movement, but it can do it where a lens grid hasn’t been shot.

4 Likes

Usually I try to get geometry and a lensgrid, as even lensgrids arent perfect.

In fact I do not do any grids in Nuke or flame, I only use 3DE to calculcate accurate distortion and focal lengths.