Looking for Guests for Logik Live on Paint Techniques

Hello Logik Community!

At the end of today’s show, I talked about starting the conversation about an upcoming episode of Logik Live focused on Painting in the context of compositing work. I use the paint node as much as the next Flame artist, but I definitely wouldn’t say I’m a paint expert-- but I’m on the hunt for one! Or two! Or three?

What I had in mind was to focus mostly on technique as opposed to specific setups. I think most of us might not bat an eye at someone demonstrating a stabilize-> sequence paint → unstabilize workflow, but what I think would make for a great Logik Live would be something like:

• What it looks like to paint at a very high skill level
  • Techniques to avoid boiling when painting frame by frame
  • How / when you use the more obscure paint modes: shade, smear, wash, impression
  • How / when you use some of the more obscure paint brushes

This is just to list a few pathways that I can think of off the top of my head, so this definitely isn’t a list set in stone. If you can come up with some other ideas of what YOU would like to see, the more ideas the merrier. Obviously since this is technique, it doesn’t HAVE to be limited to Flame, and we can branch it out to Silhouette if someone is so inclined. If you have some footage you can share that you can use, great, otherwise, since this is just technique, maybe we can just use stock footage and find good examples of technique there.

If any of you would be interested in participating or if you know someone who might be a great fit for an episode like this, feel free to respond here or shoot me a private message and let me know if there’s a particular area you’d like to focus on. Chat soon!

5 Likes

I think this will be a great show.

A few things I’d be happy to contribute:

• Painting with blend modes to achieve dogde/burn color corrections when painting