Shooting 29.97 to simulate newscast question

Feel like a total noob asking this, but I am curious to what everyone thinks about this as a solution before our recommendation goes out to production. The client is going for a newscast look and our recommendation was to shoot 29.97p… when I just got off the horn with Extreme Reach they stated that 29.97i was the only way they can receive it.

Is the solution as easy as doing all the work at the native shot format 29.97p (this will be our web delivery), then TW to 50% and then interlace for final broadcast versions? This should give me the correct number of frames and appear accurate right??? Am I losing my mind or is this more complicated than I think it’ll be?

Any suggestions are appreciated.

Thx!!!

Great question.

Everybody says they want a newscast look until they see the newscast look. Also, be very very careful as its very likely the someone somewhere won’t accept a 2997 deliverable and will require a 24 and then you are in a world of hurt.

You can always shoot 23.976 and add a 3:2 frame based pulldown, which is the TC Convert Rate tool and basically is a 80% timewarp with Mix set to 0.

You can also add a 3:2 field based traditional pulldown but be wary, VERY wary, people freak out with interlacing and some web deliverables will probably be rejected.

The best thing you can do? Shoot 23.976 with a skinny shutter, add a bit of 3:2, shoot studio lighting, grade it with primaries only, and Fran’s your Nan.

1 Like

Thx Randy, really appreciate it. I am triple checking with producer that it’s going to Xtreme Reach right now. If it is in fact, as suspected, going to Xtreme Reach, then they have confirmed a 29.97 delivery is fins.

I find that a frame rate conversion 23.976 to 59.94 via pulldown looks identical to 23.976, and not really the video look they are after. They want the video look (DP is on board as is the agency and client).

All things being equal, how would you recommend getting 29.97p to 29.97i?