Would the basic entry level Mac Pro + Screen config, be enough to go with when starting out?

I’m taking the leap into freelancing, and I wanted a cost effective Mac Pro + Monitor solution to start.
My plan is to get the complete basic entry level Mac Pro + the LG 5k monitor to start and then fund upgrades as jobs roll in. This obviously doesn’t meet ADSK’s system requirements, so I’m wondering if the entry level setup would be good enough to start with or if I should look into financing the upgrades upfront, in some way? (ie Get ADSK recommended CPU, RAM, GRFX card etc.)

I need to be able to run other software in the same environment for a more fluid workflow (Flame, Resolve, Nuke + the Adobe Suite) I’m not that technically savvy and didn’t want to deal with the headache of dual booting Linux/Win and compiling drivers for a custom rig.

Hi Tallen,

Def check out @randy’s segment on Logik Live about his experiences with the Mac Pro:

Bottom line is that you can always add RAM and even a more powerful GPU to the bae model Mac Pro.

Good luck!

Andy

2 Likes

There are plenty of artists doing their thing from home on an old trash can, or even older MacBook Pros. Just ask this year’s OFoW winner, @tomothyhondrox, who created an impressive entry on self-proclaimed ancient hardware.

You do not need more than 32GB of RAM on day 1. Day 14, maybe. Day 30, probably. Day 60, yup.

You do not need a $1300 monitor on day 1.

You do not need the fanciest GPU or dual GPUs on day one.

You do not need a video card or external monitor on day 1. Most don’t ever get one. Most don’t ever need one. External monitoring is a rabbit hole…should you get scopes? And how are you going to control the volume? Oh, you have 3 sources and only 1 set of audio monitors? Great, now you need a $300 monitor controller and $50 worth of cables.