Export H264 Multipass with custom bitrate

Hello Everybody,

On Mac, how to have more options to customize H264 export ?

Like choose bitrate / Multipass / profile…
I use Baseline 20Mbs but it’s not enough (too compressed).
I don’t want to export Masters and use Resolve after to load each masters and export again in H264.

Is there any way to do it Inside Flame with Python script ?
I read FFMPEG is a part of the solution.
I’m a bit newbie with Python so…

Thank you

I just leave the encoding to part Adobe’s Media Encoder. It’s not fast but has the control I need

1 Like

Adobe Encoder is an option…
But could we stay in Flame ?

@ManChicken and @Jeff did an amazing script that makes .mp4s. Check this out:

You’ll notice there are custom .cdxprof settings in there. You can absolutely make your own using the variables in there i.e. increasing the bitrate of the export…

I’ve gotten this to work brilliantly on my Macintosh, but had to install ffmpeg which took a little sleuthing.

1 Like

Oh great ! I install it.
Thank you Josh and @ManChicken and @jeff

1 Like

There are obviously quite a few steps but I feel pretty familiar with them, aside from some potentially complicated ffmpeg installation stuff; that can get dicey sometimes and I don’t know everything there is to know about that beast of a toolset. Let me know if you run into any other hurdles along the way and I’d be happy to help!

Hey Jeff,
You know a little about ffmpeg? Or you have access to someone who does :hugs:
Would you have any idea how to use ffmpeg to go from ACEScg EXRs and make ProRes?

We are tying to use Deadline to make .movs from our renders but the movs need some colour management. Deadline is using ffmpeg and I was wondering how i might go about tweaking some settings. Our EXRs are being rendered ACEScg (AP1) and it looks like the proRes are expecting AP0

It’ll need to go through a colour conversion. AP1 - AP0 - sRGB/rec709 preRes.

Not fussed if they come out sRGB or rec709.