The Colourful History of Compositing

Thanks to Andy for having me on Logik live today.
I was nervous so I hope that it came through in a legible fashion.

Green screen and compositing history has been a topic that I have long been interested in and although I briefly mentioned it I could have easily have filled the entire hour rambling on about optical printing, hand painted mattes and the way visual effects use to be done. Instead I thought that I would share a few of my internet sources, videos that have inspired and educated me into some of the incredible history.

Some of you may have bridged the gap but when I started in the industry in 2001, most of the visual effects were being done in the computer using digital scans of the film so I missed all of the physical celluloid manipulation. Maybe this is why I find it all the more fascinating.

Like many of you I have a copy of Ron Brinkmann’s “The Art and Science of Digital Compositing”, which I studied when I was starting out. Then my research sort of stopped. Everything from then on was practical. An apprenticeship. It wasn’t until recently that I started to get back into the research. Maybe it is middle age. That is usually the answer to the question. Middle age or clamping.

Anyway let me share a couple of links with you. Maybe you have some you can send back to me. I find all of it interesting but if anyone has any examples of red screens I would love to see them. Apparently used for incredibly accurate mattes when shooting miniatures. I haven’t been able to find any yet.

# The Colorful History of Green Screen Compositing
An incredibly concise look at the evolution. I highly recommend watching the video on Blue Screen by Mark Vargo which I will repost here:
# Blue Screen 1980 a Mark Vargo film

# Home Alone Without CGI [Special Effects Breakdown]