(Another) Slate Workflow

Hiya All,

Adding some more python scripts for creating slates into the world. Why do we need another script for slates? We don’t. But I have been tinkering with this off & on since 2018 and it would seem like a waste to squirrel it away just all for myself.

Huge thanks to @ManChicken for his PHP script that revealed what is possible with text setups. Massive thanks to @MikeV for always answering my questions and inspiring me with your amazing scripts & gorgeous PySide classes. I am merely following in your footsteps guys.

So, I feel like there are 3 aspects to a slate workflow for your timelines:

1. Generating the text setups
  2. Applying the text setups to your slate segments
  3. Making updates to the slates later

Generating the Text Setups

1. Install pyslater_for_flame from the Logik Portal or download from github
  2. Click the Flame Fish Menu > Slates… > PySlater for Flame

This window is broken into 3 groups: Input, Filtering, Output. It helps to think of them taking place in that order as well.

Input
Spreadsheet URL is the address of an empty default Google sheet that could be used for the slate data. Its just for convenience and can be changed by editing the script if need. The copy button to the right of it will put it on the clipboard to then paste into your web browser.

Once you have the slate data entered into your sheet, download it as a CSV and click the CSV File path bar to navigate to it. By default, this should be pointing to the current project’s text setup folder. Again, a Copy button to send this path to the clipboard to paste into you web browsers download window. I find it easiest to download the CSV to the project’s text setup folder.

Filtering