Export a clip or sequence in half restolution

Hi,
a few weeks ago i posted a thread on the flame forum asking how to export a clip in half resolution.
I managed to write a python script following the suggestion that Fred Warren gave me and i finally got to something that works.
Right now the script do the following step:

• create a new library
  • create a new folder in the library
  • copy a selected clip to the folder just created
  • reformat by half
  • export the clip with the new res to a default folder
  • delete the lib just created

Since i’m not a good programmer at all, i “stitched” part of code here and there and i put together a code that works but that needs to be clean up, optimize and commented. Is anybody willing to have a look and help me with the fine tuning? I think i made a bit of a mess with the part where i have to pass the new location of the clip that i’ve copied. What would be the best way to proceed in order to share a decent script to the forum? Post it here or send it via PM to anybody willing to help?

Speaking of exporting half resolution… is there a way in python to extrapolate the proxy as you would do tool → clip → proxy extract and then export that to some location?

Thanks again Fred for the help,
Francesco Bianco

4 Likes

Nice!!! You can absolutely post the .py file here as an attachment.

Hi Randy,
it says that i can’t upload files because i’m a new user.

1 Like

Hmmm… did you try to upload earlier or j just now? I just tweaked something. I’m standing by.

Just now, still not working.

1 Like

Thanks for your patience. Sometimes the site thinks new users attaching files is a bot or spam. As I check out the log files I just promoted you so if you wouldn’t mind trying again I’d appreciate it.

You are posting a .py right?

export_half_res.py (7,1 KB)

Yes, now it’s working. Thanks!

2 Likes

Hey Francesco

I just took a quick peek at your script. A few things that might help: