Fake a Broadcast Monitor for Streaming

Is there any way to have flame “think” you’ve got a broadcast monitor hooked up so you can pipe that into the video stream versus the whole UI?

2 Likes

When you say “broadcast monitor” are you talking about an AJA/BMD SDI out, or a 2nd monitor that you choose to have picture on?

Welcome to Frustrationville. For as simple as possible, I’d recommend a Blackmagic Mini Monitor and either an Atem Mini or. Blackmagic Web Presenter.

I’m not even sure, since I’ve never bothered to hook one up on my home rig.

But the idea being the second monitor that only shows the picture coming out of flame with none of the UI.

the thing that is controlled by the “broadcast monitor” pane.

I’ve been using NDI and OBS for client sessions for a few months now. You need a piece of hardware that converts HDMI to NDI. I use a second machine (Mac or Windows) to run through and out to the internet. Not sure if you can do it all on your flame machine.

With NDI you can monitor the video feed anywhere on your network or send it out to the wider web.

My setup:

• Second monitor out of flame going to Magewell Pro (HDMI to NDI converter)

• Windows Desktop with NDI Tools and OBS connecting to Zoom.

• OBS Scenes are set up to show my face (webcam) or flame broadcast out or both. OBS also controls audio (whether I want clients to hear my mic, program audio, desktop audio, or any combination of those)

• On Windows you need a free plugin for OBS called OBS-VirtualCam that makes OBS output a webcam (for Zoom to see)

• Zoom launches and sees OBS as a web camera. Ready to go for Zoom meetings.

• Video and Audio playback maintain 24fps. Clients have commented on how smooth it is compared to other Zoom meetings they’ve been on.

• We are not doing absolute color critical work but the color has been good for client review.

• Make sure in Zoom video settings you are not sending out mirrored picture.