Sharing projects between two Flames

I know this sounds like a total noob question, but its something we have never needed before and now we do…

I need to open and work on a project started on our Flame Assist, on my Flame, whilst Luke works on a different project on the Flame Assist.

is this possible, and how is it achieved?

Both macs are on the same 10gb network, and each has its own dedicated raid (not shared). The other proviso is that i’ll be operating my flame over a vpn as I’m currently working from home and unable to drive to collect archives etc!.

Any suggestions how best to do this would be very welcome!

Thanks

2 Likes

3 choices if you are on the same network and networking is configured correctly.

1. You can restore that archive onto your local machine and work locally.

2. On the project launcher splash screen, you can choose his machine under the host on the left side, and you’ll then be presented with the projects on that machine and then you can choose that project and work away over the network.

3. You can navigate to the other Flame via the Media Hub and wire anything you need to your local storage and work locally.

2 Likes

Thanks Randy…i’ll try the easier one of those options tomorrow…splash screen project opener…then it all remains on the same machine…i’ll just be finishing some roto that’s already been started.

1 Like

Oh yeah, thats far less complicated than I was picturing. Depending on network and machine performance, that could either be seamless or not. Worst case scenario? Have him save you a gmask tracer setup on shared storage somewhere, you load the footage yourself from anywhere, and save him back a gmask tracer node. Easy and you get to work locally and theres hardly any data moving around.

1 Like

Good idea!

Hi Randy, In this workflow which computer’s cpu/gpu is used when rendering?

Was wondering if people found that they lost this feature with the single user license?